Getting Started

This is an experiment in self help. If you have come here looking for some expert insight into Taosim or Tai Chi, I am afraid you have come to the wrong place. I am not an expert in those things or anything else for that matter.

This is an experiment to see if I can learn about Taoism by blogging about it while I try to apply the principles in my own life. Living in a small midwestern city there is no easily available teacher here, so I have to go by the printed word. I hope that by commenting on the words and providing my own feedback that perhaps I can move in a direction that makes some kind of sense.

On another blog in another time, I referred to myself as a “Failed Christian,” which was perhaps a bit too harsh. Many years ago I was attracted to Taoism and Eastern philosophies because of their emphasis on unity as opposed the dichotomy so often seen in Western thinking. I didn’t so much “fail” as a Christian as I wanted a deeper understanding of the world than most Christian thought allows.

My plan is to post an excerpt from a chapter of the Tao Te Ching each day, with some commentary on what I think it means and how I see it operating in my life at the moment. Whether it will be helpful to you, I don’t know. I also don’t know if it will be helpful to me either, but at least for a few monents each day I will be focused on this.

If you have comments on my journey, I would certainly be glad to hear them. Feel free to drop your thoughts in the comment box.

1 Comment

Filed under General Writings, Self Improvement, Taoism

One response to “Getting Started

  1. freemedia23

    This is amazing. Thanks so much for this blog. I am going to read it every day. What an inspiring vision.

Leave a Reply

